Porsche Babblers  

Go Back   Porsche Babblers > Porsche Boxster and Cayman Forum > Boxster / Cayman

Boxster / Cayman Porsche Boxster and Cayman Forum - Topics and discussions about the Porsche Boxster and Cayman

Old March 14th, 2017, 06:56 AM   #1
AverageJo

1997 Porsche Boxster, New Owner.

Hello everyone, I am new to Porsche and to this blog. I just purchased this as a fun vehicle for my lovely wife and I. The car has 110,000 miles and appears to be in a great shape and runs great.

I would like to do some basic maintenance myself like oil change and air filter however, I can not find the recommended part numbers of the oil filer and other related parts for this car.

Is Mobil 1 synthetic 0W40 a correct oil to use?

If you guys/gals could help me with the maintenance part numbers it would be much appreciated.

Here is some basic information on the car.
1997 boxster black 5 speed all leather with heated seats.

It has some ( what I consider minor challenges) ebrake button gets stock and I have to wiggle it to make it pop back out.
Ignition key does not return to its normal operating position after the car starts and I have to nudge it a little to have my light to come on.

Here are some pictures.

Sooo any information or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you again.

Over and out

Ed
AverageJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2017, 06:17 PM   #2
mikefocke

Replace the ignition switch.

Oil and Filter Replacement
with part numbers.

Mobile 1 0-40 is a Porsche recommended oil. But there are online wars about the best oil.
mikefocke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2017, 03:48 AM   #3
AverageJo

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikefocke View Post
Replace the ignition switch.

Oil and Filter Replacement
with part numbers.

Mobile 1 0-40 is a Porsche recommended oil. But there are online wars about the best oil.

Thank you sir. What about the oil filter part number?
Old March 16th, 2017, 01:34 PM   #4
Cjarl5