Porsche Babblers  

Go Back   Porsche Babblers > Porsche Boxster and Cayman Forum > Boxster / Cayman

Boxster / Cayman Porsche Boxster and Cayman Forum - Topics and discussions about the Porsche Boxster and Cayman

Old November 18th, 2002, 11:21 AM   #1
Chatter Box

Urgent Brake Question, Please Help

Hi guys,

I know this has probably been discussed before, but bear with me, I'm a newbie. Okay, I'm not a newbie, bear with me anyway.

I need to replace my front brake pads. Since this is my 2nd set of pads, I want to check my rotors prior to beginning the job and will change those too if necessary. What are the new and max worn widths of the front rotors? Also, I know what is involved with a pad change, but this will be my first rotor change. Can someone direct me to some instructions for changing the rotors? Also, I'll be doing the job at a friend's house and he'll have all the "regular" tools, but please let me know if I'll need some special Porsche tool to get this done.

Thanks!
Old November 18th, 2002, 11:38 AM   #2
Tool Pantsİ

Re: Urgent Brake Question, Please Help

This would be a good project for this weekends work on cars - hint.

The numbers are on the hat of the rotor - but they are hard to see - look like a bunch of dots. The shop manual says for an S the fronts are 28 mm new, and the minimum thickness is 26 mm. You need a mic and are supposed to check 8 different places on the rotor.
Old November 18th, 2002, 11:58 AM   #3
Tom M (Sunol, CA)

Trygve has the answers you seek. *NM*

Trygve's Most Excellent Brake Instructions
Old November 18th, 2002, 12:14 PM   #4
Chatter Box

AAwesome link. Thanks Tom and Trygve. *NM*

Old November 18th, 2002, 04:48 PM   #5
Kevin C. (Saratoga, CA)

I use a $15 Sears measuring caliper, but...

a real micrometer would be better. My bet would be that you can get at least another set of pads out of your rotors, but a quick measurement will tell.