Porsche Babblers  

Go Back   Porsche Babblers > Porsche Boxster and Cayman Forum > Boxster / Cayman

Boxster / Cayman Porsche Boxster and Cayman Forum - Topics and discussions about the Porsche Boxster and Cayman


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 27th, 2001, 05:24 PM   #1
doug_d (Cameron Park, CA)
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
hints on replacing parking brake switch?

hey, i've got this great opportunity to work on the boxster tomorrow with my wife's blessing. she just called and is stuck with the top down...the parking brake switch isn't activating.

i've got a spare (planning ahead). is this a semi-simple job? this may sound scary, but where does it go? in the tunnel just under the p.brake? tips, diagrams, anything would be appreciated.

may be a good time to change the battery in the garage door opener i stuffed in there a coupla years ago too.

thanks!

thanks, doug
  Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2001, 05:31 PM   #2
doug_d (Cameron Park, CA)
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: hack idea???? parking brake override switch...

for those annoying days when the switch won't activate, you can hold a button to override it, and be able to operate the top.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2001, 11:32 PM   #3
JayM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
It may not be necessary to replace it

When this happened to mine a couple of months ago, a freind advised me to actuate the parking brake firmly 10 or 15 times (translation-pull the crap out of it) to see if the switch would "un-stick". On the 5th or 6th pull, I heard a click, but I gave it the full 15 just to be safe. Sure enough, the top then worked and has ever since.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2001, 10:40 AM   #4
doug_d (Cameron Park, CA)
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: been there...doin' that!

thanks jay. that's how i've been "fixing" the intermittant problem for the past year. i think i'm ready for that hack!
  Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2001, 02:50 PM   #5
Jason Reiser
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yup - hack it!

If you ground pin #15 on the relay, it thinks that the parking brake is on. I soldered a short wire with a quick connector on it to pin #15, and then connected this to a convenient ground. This way I can easily remove this hack and return the stock unmodified relay if necessary.

If you want a dash mounted switch, just put it in series on this wire to ground.

And while you're there, remove pin #18 to allow the top to operate while the car is moving. 8)




  Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2001, 06:41 PM   #6
Tool Pants
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Is this correct Jason, for the complete hack

You bend over pin #18 for the top relay. (Several Babblers have already done this). Then you ground pin 15 of the relay.

You can put the top up or down while driving the car and without pulling up the hand brake a notch. The TechArt relay without the $, but without the 25mph limit.

Just be careful Babblers and do not work the top switch at 100mph.

Jeff


  Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2018, 01:47 PM   #7
Leonardo111
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Also if you don't want to replace the switch you can just bypass it so you can use the top

Here's a good video how to do it:
https://youtu.be/eoI6o1TQE3c
Leonardo111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2018, 03:23 PM   #8
penguinpete
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Trouble with this hack?

Since it has been a while since this has been posted I thought I would see if this has caused anyone problems, other than driving too fast while putting up the top . It seems straightforward.
penguinpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2018, 03:26 PM   #9
penguinpete
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 2
I wanted to add, I took out the coin tray section of the console (just two screws) and hit the switch with a little WD40 and it is working fine. Hope it will last until the new switch arrives.
penguinpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2018, 04:15 PM   #10
mikefocke
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 285
The hacks are well known and tried on thousands of cars.
mikefocke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  Porsche Babblers > Porsche Boxster and Cayman Forum > Boxster / Cayman



Search tags for this page
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does any one have instructions for replacing the hand brake? villwil Boxster / Cayman 1 October 21st, 2005 03:22 PM
Trac Control Switch config or diagram? Mike Mullins Boxster / Cayman 0 October 22nd, 2003 05:23 AM
Parking nannies, jerks, and other rants relevant to this ol' coot. Chatter Box Boxster / Cayman 6 July 21st, 2003 08:22 AM
Is this the brake switch PT Boxster / Cayman 3 February 3rd, 2003 01:37 PM
brake light issue PT Boxster / Cayman 4 January 30th, 2003 12:52 PM

Google+


Copyright © 2001-2014 Babblers. All rights reserved.
Babblers is a Porsche Boxster and Cayman enthusiast's forum, but it is in no way affiliated with, nor does it represent Porsche of Stuttgart, Germany.