Porsche Babblers  

Go Back   Porsche Babblers > Porsche Boxster and Cayman Forum > Boxster / Cayman

Boxster / Cayman Porsche Boxster and Cayman Forum - Topics and discussions about the Porsche Boxster and Cayman


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old January 21st, 2013, 05:57 PM   #1
Maxine
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
CDR 24 radio 07' Boxster S

I took my Boxster S to the Porsche dealer for a service, and while there, a mechanic broke my convertible top. After much fussing about, they fixed it. Now, the radio is dead. No radio No Cd, volume, channel buttons, am fm cd..
Kaput!! Whats odd, is the PORSCHE name still lights up on the screen, but thats all.The fuse box is fine- no problem there. It worked fine before the dealer took in my car. Any idea why the radio rolled over and played dead?
Thanks- Maxine
Maxine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2013, 07:13 AM   #2
offshore
Senior Member
 
offshore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pacific Grove, CA
Posts: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxine View Post
I took my Boxster S to the Porsche dealer for a service, and while there, a mechanic broke my convertible top. After much fussing about, they fixed it. Now, the radio is dead. No radio No Cd, volume, channel buttons, am fm cd..
Kaput!! Whats odd, is the PORSCHE name still lights up on the screen, but thats all.The fuse box is fine- no problem there. It worked fine before the dealer took in my car. Any idea why the radio rolled over and played dead?
Thanks- Maxine
If they disconnected the battery for any reason the radio will not work until the code is input.
__________________
Ron Breeze
offshore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2013, 06:17 AM   #3
Loren
Senior Member
 
Loren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by offshore View Post
If they disconnected the battery for any reason the radio will not work until the code is input.
I think you are thinking of older radios (CDR-220, CR-22, etc.). The newer radios CDR-23 and CDR-24 do not require codes - they are matched with the car in the DME.

The original poster will likely need to find a shop with Porsche diagnostic tool to check and see if the radio has just "lost" it's connection or if it is bad.
__________________
Loren
My mods in the Registry - My Blog
Loren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2013, 07:52 AM   #4
offshore
Senior Member
 
offshore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pacific Grove, CA
Posts: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loren View Post
I think you are thinking of older radios (CDR-220, CR-22, etc.). The newer radios CDR-23 and CDR-24 do not require codes - they are matched with the car in the DME.

The original poster will likely need to find a shop with Porsche diagnostic tool to check and see if the radio has just "lost" it's connection or if it is bad.
Interesting, when did Porsche make the change?
__________________
Ron Breeze
offshore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2013, 07:56 AM   #5
Tom M
Site Founder
 
Tom M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Westfield, IN
Posts: 2,635
I seem to recall that this was when they went to the MOST bus. 2003 or thereabout.
__________________
Tom M (Westfield, IN)
'04 996 C4S MBM/GG (gone)
'00 986 S MBK/NBL/BLK (gone)
'11 958 Cayenne S
Tom M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2013, 12:14 PM   #6
offshore
Senior Member
 
offshore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pacific Grove, CA
Posts: 926
So does the radio still work if it is stolen?
__________________
Ron Breeze
offshore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2013, 06:07 AM   #7
Loren
Senior Member
 
Loren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by offshore View Post
So does the radio still work if it is stolen?
No - there is a code in the radio that must match the code in the DME or it does not work. You need Durametric, a PST2, or PIWIS tester to set this function.
__________________
Loren
My mods in the Registry - My Blog
Loren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2013, 07:05 AM   #8
offshore
Senior Member
 
offshore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Pacific Grove, CA
Posts: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loren View Post
No - there is a code in the radio that must match the code in the DME or it does not work. You need Durametric, a PST2, or PIWIS tester to set this function.
So there still is a code it's just input differently.
__________________
Ron Breeze
offshore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2013, 06:57 PM   #9
thom4782
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
What services were done at the dealer? Also, do you know what went wring with the top? Knowing these answers might suggest why the radio stopped working
thom4782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  Porsche Babblers > Porsche Boxster and Cayman Forum > Boxster / Cayman



Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boxster E prototypes attract many prospective customers Admin Boxster / Cayman 2 September 10th, 2011 07:37 AM
Only 987 cars: Boxster S Black Edition with comprehensive range of equipment Admin Boxster / Cayman 1 February 19th, 2011 11:18 AM
Boxsters can be TTOD Docdanracy Boxster / Cayman 3 March 24th, 2010 01:12 PM
Boxster 2004: CDR-23 radio pinout / wire diagrams? yellowlemon Boxster / Cayman 2 March 27th, 2009 11:31 PM
The new Boxster and Boxster S Tom M Boxster / Cayman 2 September 14th, 2004 09:21 AM

Google+


Copyright © 2001-2014 Babblers. All rights reserved.
Babblers is a Porsche Boxster and Cayman enthusiast's forum, but it is in no way affiliated with, nor does it represent Porsche of Stuttgart, Germany.